PGI Parnassos (ΠΓΕ Παρνασσός)

In roughly the middle of Central Greece, in the southern segment of the Greek mainland, the PGI Parnassos (ΠΓΕ Παρνασσός) zone (est.2006) comprises parts of two districts: (a) the district of Fokida’s areas of Gravia, Kasteli and Mariolata in the Gravia municipality, and the areas of Eptalofos, Lilaea and Parnassos in the Parnassos municipality; and (b) the district of Fthiotida’s Amfiklia municipality, the area of Agia Marina, and the municipal areas of Tithorea and Elatia.

The PGI Parnassos zone is one of the few wine zones that stretch over two districts. In essence, it includes areas on the northeastern foothills of Mount Parnassos, on the southwestern foothills of Mount Kallidromo, and on the valley stretching between the two mountains. The Mavroudi red variety included in the zone’s vine composition is actually the Arahovitiko Black -the local cultivar which reigned supreme in the once renowned Arahova vineyards.


White Wines: Assyrtiko, Roditis, Savatiano, Robola, Athiri, Malagousia, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc.

Red Wines: Agiorgitiko, Mavroudi, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot.

Rosé wines: from varieties that participate in white and red wines.

Wine types

  • Dry white
  • Dry rosé
  • Dry red